Illustrator interview: Evie Kitt

(c) Evie Kitt

Artwork © Evie Kitt

After talking to Sarah Thomas at the Bodleian for issue nine, we wanted to find an illustrator that would do the piece justice in print. The Ruskin School Of Drawing & Fine Art in Oxford put us in touch with Evie Kitt, a second year Fine Arts student. Head below the fold to read a brief interview with Evie, and to see more of her superb and varied artwork.

Why were you interested in illustrating the interview?

The very nature of the interview and Structo magazine itself, being a literary magazine, appealed to me; living and working in Oxford and the Ruskin’s connections with the Bodleian Library just tied it all together. Plus I found the interview interesting and it captured my imagination – I wanted to convey Sarah’s love of her work in my drawing.

Illustration © Evie Kitt

Artwork © Evie Kitt

What’s your favourite medium to work with?

That’s a very difficult question – I love making very intricate and detailed drawings, so I love hard pencil – around H or 2H, and I can spend hundreds of hours devoted to a single drawing. But I also paint abstracts by a very freeing and expressive process – so for those I use acrylics and pigment powders, which are lively and unpredictable.

Illustration © Evie Kitt

Artwork © Evie Kitt

Do you have plans for when you leave Ruskin?  

I’m currently in the very early stages of illustrating my own book; a dream that I hope I can make into a reality. Becoming a successful artist or illustrator would be extraordinary, and the Ruskin is a wonderful ladder into that world – if I can sustain the level of hard work needed to achieve that, I think I can take my work to some very exciting places.

To find out more about Evie and her artwork, head over to her website.

Leave a Reply

